Finding the perfect wedding dress

So I booked my wedding yesterday.  I’m getting married one year today!  I’m excited and a little scared about the lack of savings and preparations I have made.  Whoops! So it’s undoubtedly going to be a busy, exciting,  stressful, and skint year ahead.  But it will all be worth it in the end eh?

I gathered my nearest and dearest a few weeks back and we went to the Scottish Wedding Show at the SECC in Glasgow. To say it was overwhelming is a major understatement. I didn’t have a clue where to begin, which stalls I’d been to, who I’d been speaking to etc. What did grab my attention however was the number of dresses on display and their exclusive price tags.

Typical Katie, I adore all of the dresses which are priced unfortunately way above my budget. I saw some gorgeous, elegant dresses by the likes of Joyce Young, and Sarah Louise Bridal. I’ve also been wasting a ridiculous amount of time pouring over Jenny Packham’s beautiful bridal collection which is way beyond what I can reasonably afford.

So I’ve been deliberating over whether I can find a nice enough sample dress from one of the key players, second-hand designer dress in excellent condition, have my dress made similar to designs I love by a talented dressmaker, or lastly buy an affordable dress online. I know I definitely don’t want a dress from the high-street. But I have concerns about all of the other options above.

  • Have you or anyone you know, ever bought a sample dress? If so, what advice could you offer me?
  • Have you or anyone you know, ever bought a second-hand designer dress? If so, what websites would you recommend? Any other advice would be greatly appreciated too šŸ™‚
  • Can anybody recommend a reasonably priced dressmaker based in the UK with an interest in bridal-wear?
  • Has anyone ever bought an affordable dress online?  Can you recommend any particular websites?

I’d love to hear about your experiences finding your dress for your wedding day.  Please get in touch if you can offer me any advice about finding the perfect dress.

2 thoughts on “Finding the perfect wedding dress

  1. Hi Katie! Congratulations on your happy news! I have no experience to help you, as such, but I am a bridesmaid for a friend and she has just ordered a bridesmaid dress online (think it was from Dido Bridal). Like you, she had some concerns about this, so she only ordered the one (there are 3 bridesmaids) to see how it turned out. I am going to London to visit her in a few weeks and I will try the dress on then. Her sister has tried it already and apparently it looks great and the dressmaker did a fantastic job, so think it’s a winner. Hope that is of *some* help to you. Good luck with your quest for the perfect dress!

Leave a Reply

