Designer in the making…

The other morning I woke with an epiphany.  It suddenly dawned on me that the answer to my problems when buying clothes is right under my nose.  I am often frustrated in shops with the finishing, sizing, and shape of clothes (well within my price range anyway).  I am really creative, adore clothes, love fashion and have always enjoyed art and design, so I have decided to try my hand at designing and creating my very own clothes.  I’m so excited I could scream. I am a complete beginner with dressmaking so this will take time and patience.  Patience is not a virtue of mine.  I also don’t do anything by halves.  So I will need to try to not get crazy with rage when my first attempt doesn’t resemble a skirt designed by Karl Lagerfeld.  However I am a perfectionist, so I look forward to learning, developing and eventually refining my skills.  I can’t wait to create my own clothes, and take pride in knowing that it’s my truly individual style. 

I decided it would be wise to invest in a good sewing/ dressmaking book for beginners to help me along the way.  I just purchased “The Dressmakers Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques”, by Lorna Knight from Amazon.  Have any of you read this book?  I paid for special delivery because of my excitement, and can’t wait for it to arrive tomorrow. 

dressmakersbiblecover
(Image source: Amazon)

I’m already thinking about the wonderful range of fabrics and patterns to consider.  I’m borrowing my Mum’s sewing machine so hope to get starting this weekend.  I’m raring to go!  I’ll keep you updated with my progress and provide photographs of my journey.  If anyone has any tips, articles or anything you would like to share about designing and dressmaking I’d love to hear from you.  Happy sewing! 

7 thoughts on “Designer in the making…

    • Thank you! I do intend to do a course but thought I would get over the basics with a book first. But yeah, I would enjoy the social element of a class and learning from an expert, Cheers, Katie 🙂

  1. Samantha is correct. Books can be frustrating sometimes and sketches of what the garment is supposed to look like do not always reflect what happens in reality. Practice on your own is great and supplementing with some classes will boost your confidence and learning. One recommendation I’ll make is to always make a toile a/k/a a sample out of muslin or an inexpensive fabric like broadcloth before cutting the pattern out in the fashion fabric. You”ll need to become acquainted with your own unique fitting requirements. Making mistakes and learning on a muslin will build your confidence when working on the real garment construction.

    • Thank you very much EmilyAnn for all your helpful tips and advice. I will definitely practice on cheap fabric first and get myself to a good sewing class! I really appreciate your advice. Katie 🙂

  2. What a mad coincidence, I own this book myself! I’ve lost touch with sewing over the past couple of years so at this stage, my skills wouldn’t be anything to write home about, but I found reading through extremely beneficial, not just regarding the basics with patterns to build from but also general sewing knowledge and terminology! 🙂
    Very best of luck with your dressmaking, I’m striving to get back a good standard of sewing myself by the end of the summer – there’s nothing more satisfying than wearing one’s own creation I can assure you, and knowing it’s entirely one-of-a-kind 🙂
    Amelia xx

    • Thank you Amelia! I too find reading about a subject matter one of the best ways to learn. Of course with sewing, its such a practical exercise that practicing over and over is essential. I am so excited about this nbew project and really can’t wait to wear my own creations! Bets of luck with refining your skills over the summer. I’d love to see/ hear how you are getting on with it! Happy sewing! 🙂 Katie xx

  3. This is a GREAT idea! It’s one of my goals to master the sewing machine this year too 🙂 If you like thrift shopping, they’re a good place to start- you can find cheap clothing to test your new alteration skills on! And you’ll be helping the environment without realising too! Looking forward to hearing about your new endeavour x

Leave a Reply

